World Superbike Phillip Island Superpole 2015

Kawasaki Racing’s Jonathan Rea will start the opening round of the 2015 World Superbike Championship from pole position. Ducati’s Chaz Davies grabbed second on the grid followed by Red Devils Aprilia’s Leon Haslam in third.

Rea came out swinging at the start of SP2, jumping to the top of the timesheet on his first flying lap. The early advantage would eventually give Rea his first ever pole at the Australian circuit as the session was cut short with close to 4 minutes left to go after Team Pedercini’s David Salom suffered a nasty off. Officials red-flagged proceedings after Salom’s crash and soon after called a close to the session just as a bulk of the field were readying to take to the track on qualifying rubber.

“It was a strange way to end the session,” said Rea. “From my point of view we did a good job with a race tire in the high temperatures and the Kawasaki is working very well. We made a good set-up breakthrough in FP4. I am really happy with the first Tissot-Superpole of the season because it is the best possible result from qualifying. I also wanted the chance to use the qualifying tire, however, because I know the Kawasaki uses the Q tires very well too. So the lap time could have been quite good. But, this is still the best possible result for me after Superpole.”

Davies actually bested Rea’s time, but the red flag was shown during the Ducati rider’s flying lap and ultimately was not counted.

Pata Honda’s Michael van der Mark heads up the second row followed by Voltcom Crescent Suzuki’s Alex Lowes in fifth and Althea Racing’s Nicholas Terol in sixth. Red Devils Aprilia’s Jordi Torres finished in 6th position ahead of Rea’s teammate, Tom Sykes, in eighth. Defending world champion Sylvain Guintoli of Pata Honda, qualified in ninth.

Further back in the ranks, Troy Bayliss nearly qualified through SP1 to SP2, coming up just short of a transfer spot. He will start from 13th on the grid. MV Agusta’s Leon Camier slots in just behind Bayliss in 14th. Team Hero EBR’s Niccolo Canepa grabbed 16th.

Salom was later reported to have suffered a fractured finger on the left hand and a concussion.

World Superbike Phillip Island Superpole Results 2015
1. Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki) 1’31.212
2. Chaz Davies (Ducati) 1’31.238
3. Leon Haslam (Aprilia) 1’31.507
4. Michael van der Mark (Honda) 1’31.613
5. Alex Lowes (Suzuki) 1’32.042
6. Nicholas Terol (Ducati) 1’32.081
7. Jordi Torres (Aprilia) 1’32.243
8. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki) 1’32.265
9. Sylvain Guintoli (Honda) 1’32.446
10. Matteo Baiocco (Ducati) 1’32.841
11. David Salom (Kawasaki)
12. Randy de Puniet (Suzuki) 1’31.885
13. Troy Bayliss (Ducati) 1’32.201
14. Leon Camier (MV Agusta) 1’32.668
15. Jed Metcher (Kawasaki) 1’32.727
16. Niccolo Canepa (EBR) 1’32.998
17. Sylvain Barrier (BMW) 1’33.057
18. Matthew Walters (Kawasaki) 1’33.477
19. Roman Ramos (Kawasaki) 1’33.716
20. Santiago Barragan (Kawasaki) 1’33.960
21. Larry Pegram (EBR) 1’34.323
22. Christophe Ponsson (Kawasaki) 1’34.324
23. Imre Toth (BMW) 1’36.699
24. Leandro Mercado (Ducati)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *