Phoenix 450 Supercross Results 2014

Ryan Villopoto will fight to regain his place at the top in Round 2 at Phoenix. Ryan Villopoto topped the 450 SX podium for the first time in 2014 in Phoenix, where he also gained the overall points lead.

Defending Supercross champion Ryan Villopoto of Monster Energy Kawasaki earned his first win of the 2014 series in Phoenix. JGRMX’s Justin Brayton crossed the line close behind RV in second followed by Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey.

Villopoto got a terrible start and slotted in well outside the top-5. Yoshimura Suzuki-backed rider Matt Moss notched the holeshot, but soon lost the lead to Brayton. Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Justin Barcia moved past Moss soon after, as did Dungey and his teammate, Ken Roczen. Barcia was determined to move past Brayton during the initial laps, but while the Honda ace focused on taking over the lead Dungey found a way to get the better of Barica for second-place. Dungey and Barcia continued to battle for position through the first half of competition, all while Brayton held steady out front. With 12 laps remaining the Yamaha rider was over 2 seconds ahead of Dungey.

Barcia found himself with pressure from another KTM as Roczen attempted to advance up the ranks from 4th, but the German got caught up with Bam Bam at one point and went down. He recovered quickly and rejoined the race inside the top-10, but his hopes for another podium, much less a win, were out the door.

Villopoto, meanwhile, was steadily picking off riders and had moved up to third-place as the race reached mid-point. He trailed Dungey for a few laps but made his move to second-place with eighth left to go. Soon after RV was able to get the best of Brayton as well, assuming the lead during the final laps. Brayton was tenacious though and stayed with Villopoto as best he could, crossing the finish line just a little over one second behind.

Barcia continued to lose ground late in the race as Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart worked his way through the pack after a bad start and JS7 finished 4th ahead of Barcia. Roczen trailed in sixth followed by BTO Sports’ Andrew Short in 6th.

Villopoto leaves his first career 450 SX win in Phoenix with the overall points lead. Dungey sits second a single point behind while Roczen drops to third overall. Brayton is 4th in the series followed by 2 2 Motorsports’ Chad Reed in fifth.

Phoenix 450 SX Results 2014
1. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki)
2. Justin Brayton (Yamaha)
3. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
4. James Stewart (Suzuki)
5. Justin Barcia (Honda)
6. Ken Roczen (KTM)
7. Andrew Short (KTM)
8. Broc Tickle (Suzuki)
9. Chad Reed (Kawasaki)
10. Wil Hahn (Honda)
11. Matt Moss (Suzuki)
12. Ivan Tedesco (KTM)
13. Nick Wey (Kawasaki)
14. Vince Friese (Honda)
15. Matt Goerke (KTM)

450 SX Points 2014
1. Ryan Villopoto, 43
2. Ryan Dungey, 42
3. Ken Roczen, 40
4. Justin Brayton, 37
5. Chad Reed, 32
6. Justin Barcia, 32
7. Andrew Short, 26
8. Broc Tickle, 26
9. James Stewart, 22
10. Wil Hahn, 21

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *