Motocross of Nations Results 2014

Team France, consisting of riders Gautier Paulin, Dylan Ferrandis and Steven Frossard, took top honors in the 2014 Motocross of Nations at Kegums in Latvia. This is the second time France has brought home the Chamberlain Cup since the event’s inception, France’s first MXoN win coming in 2001. The defending champions coming into this year’s event, Team Belgium, with riders Jeremy Van Horebeek, Kevin Strijbos and Julien Lieber, finished second. Team USA’s Ryan Dungey, Jeremy Martin and Eli Tomac barely edged past Great Britain to take the final step on the podium.

Race 1 MXGP & MX2

The first race of the event saw MXGP and MX2 competitors battle for the top-spot. Team Russia’s Aleksandr Tonkov got a strong start to claim the early lead, but behind Dungey, Paulin and Team Germany’s Max Nagl were on the hunt. Paulin slotted into 4th within the opening turns and proceeded to move past Dungey and Nagl in short order. Tonkov held strong at the head of the pack but Paulin was on another level, eventually getting past the Russian rider for the front. From there Paulin was untouchable, leaving riders behind to fight for second.

Van Horebeek and Team Italy’s Antiono Cairoli joined the mix with Tonkov, Dungey and Nagl mid-race. Cairoli maintained a strong pace and was starting to climb the ranks but ended his day early with a crash which left him limping. Ahead, Dungey found his way ahead of Tonkov for second and Nagl followed suit soon after. Tonkov kept the throttle pinned to salvage 4th-place, but late in the contest Van Horebeek also slipped past the Russian.

Martin was the second American rider to compete in the opening race, crossing the line in 11th-place.

At the end of the first race, Team France led Team USA and Team Belgium through 3.

Race 1 MXGP & MX2 Results
1. Gautier Paulin (Kawasaki) Team France
2. Ryan Dungey (KTM) Team USA
3. Max Nagl (Honda) Team Germany
4. Jeremy Van Horebeek (Yamaha) Team Belgium
5. Aleksandr Tonkov (Husqvarna) Team Russia
6. Filip Bengtsson (KTM) Team Sweden
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (Suzuki) Team Netherlands
8. Tommy Searle (Kawasaki) Team Great Britain
9. Dylan Ferrandis (Kawasaki) Team France
10. Davide Guarneri (TM) Team Italy

Race 2 MX2 & Open

Team France’s Steven Frossard got the early lead in Race 2 with Great Britain’s Tommy Searle, Team Sweden’s Fredrik Noren and Strijbos trailing close behind. Strijbos wove his way through the field early to claim the lead by the third lap, where he’d hold to the checkers. Frossard held strong to second after the Belgian rider moved to the front, the 2 riders leaving the field behind as the race progressed.

Dean Wilson caught up to his teammate, Searle, and the 2 battled for the number 3 spot. Wilson eventually got the upper hand and crossed the line on the podium, with Searle a little more than one second behind in 4th. Noren dropped back to fifth by the checkers.

Team USA’s top finisher in Race 2 was Eli Tomac, who recovered from a terrible start to finish sixth. Martin was in the event as well, but could only manage 13th-place. The Americans’ results dropped Team USA down to 4th overall after the second contest, trailing France, Great Britain and Belgium.

Race 2 MX2 & Open Results
1. Kevin Strijbos (Suzuki) Team Belgium
2. Steven Frossard (Kawasaki) Team France
3. Dean Wilson (Kawasaki) Team Great Britain
4. Tommy Searle (Kawasaki) Team Great Britain
5. Fredrik Noren (Honda) Team Sweden
6. Eli Tomac (Honda) Team USA
7. Tanel Leok (TM) Team Estonia
8. Glenn Coldenhoff (Suzuki) Team Netherlands
9. Dylan Ferrandis (Kawasaki) Team France
10. Marc de Reuver (Honda) Team Netherlands

Race 3 MXGP & Open

Off the start, Team Germany’s Denis Ullrich took the holeshot but lost the lead as Van Horebeek, Paulin and Tonkov pressed ahead. Van Horebeek maintained his position out front through the opening laps but Paulin hounded the Belgian rider until finding a line to the lead on Lap 4. Paulin proved to be head-and-shoulders above the rest once again, holding the top-spot through the remaining laps for his second win of the 2014 MXoN.

Van Horebeek kept ahead of Tonkov for a number of laps after Paulin took over the lead and Tomac soon entered the picture as well after recovering from an early off. Tomac was flying, gaining third-place by Lap 10, but late in the contest the American stalled his machine and was unable to continue his charge to the front. He managed to mitigate his losses though, holding to third to the finish.

Frossard bolstered Team France’s performance with a 4th-place finish while Wilson crossed the line in fifth. Tonkov dropped back to sixth ahead of Team Estonia’s Tanel Leok in 6th.

Team USA mathematically tied Great Britain in points at the end of the contest, but because Team GB’s Shaun Simpson broke a chain and took a DNF in Race 3, Team USA was awarded the advantage. Dungey was the second American representative in the final race, finishing 11th.

Race 3 MXGP & Open Results
1. Gautier Paulin (Kawasaki) Team France
2. Jeremy Van Horebeek (Yamaha) Team Belgium
3. Eli Tomac (Honda) Team USA
4. Steven Frossard (Kawasaki) Team France
5. Dean Wilson (Kawasaki) Team Great Britain
6. Aleksandr Tonkov (Husqvarna) Team Russia
7. Tanel Leok (TM) Team Estonia
8. Arnaud Tonus (Kawasaki) Team Switzerland
9. Kevin Strijbos (Suzuki) Team Belgium
10. Rui Goncalves (Yamaha) Team Portugal

2014 Motocross of Nations Overall Results
1. Team France, 17
2. Team Belgium, 27
3 Team USA, 33
4. Team Great Britain, 33
5. Team Germany, 72
6. Team Italy, 73
7. Team Switzerland, 74
8. Team Russia, 75
9. Team Estonia, 75
10. Team Netherlands, 80

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *