Las Vegas 450 Supercross Results 2014

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto scored his 4th-consecutive 450 SX race win in the 2014 season finale in Las Vegas. Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey finished the night in second-place followed by his teammate, Ken Roczen, in third.

Villopoto’s teammate, Jake Weimer, shot off the start to take the holeshot but quickly ceded the front to RV, who came charging past during the first lap. Villopoto was on fire, building a multi-second gap on the field within the opening laps and stretching it to over 13 seconds by the checkers. The Kawasaki ace secured his 4th-consecutive Supercross title during the previous round in New Jersey, but remained every bit as competitive in Vegas.

Weimer continued to slip back in the pack, getting passed in quick succession by Dungey and Roczen. Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Justin Barcia picked-off Weimer 5 laps into the race, settling into 4th-place, where he’d remain to the finish. As the race progressed, the front-runners put plenty of distance between themselves and the others.

Barcia’s teammate, Trey Canard did some late-race moving however, powering up the ranks to finish in fifth-place. RCH Racing’s Josh Hill took sixth ahead of JGRMX’s Josh Grant in 6th. Weimer finished the night in eighth trailed by N-FAB’s Chris Blose in ninth and BTO Sports’ Andrew Short in 10th.

Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart made it back to the track following his injury in New Jersey, only to pull off during the initial laps with a mechanical issue. 2014 Arenacross champion Tyler Bowers was in the mix in Vegas as well but he too suffered an issue mid-race and pulled out of competition.

Villopoto finishes the season 64 points ahead of Dungey in second overall. Roczen takes third in his rookie season as a 450 competitor, followed by Stewart in 4th and Barcia in fifth.

Las Vegas 450 Supercross Results 2014
1. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki)
2. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
3. Ken Roczen (KTM)
4. Justin Barcia (Honda)
5. Trey Canard (Honda)
6. Josh Hill (Suzuki)
7. Josh Grant (Yamaha)
8. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki)
9. Chris Blose (Honda)
10. Andrew Short (KTM)
11. Kyle Chisholm (Yamaha)
12. Ben Lamay (Yamaha)
13. Jimmy Albertson (Honda)
14. Nicholas Schmidt (Honda)
15. Cody Gilmore (Kawasaki)
16. Kyle Regal (Honda)
17. Mike Alessi (Suzuki)
18. Ronnie Stewart (Suzuki)
19. Bracken Hall (Honda)
20. Weston Peick (Suzuki)
21. Tyler Bowers (Kawasaki)
22. James Stewart (Suzuki)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *