Daytona 450 Supercross Results 2015

Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey grabbed his first career SX win at Daytona, his 4th victory of the 2015 Monster Energy Supercross season. GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac crossed the line in second followed by 450 rookie Blake Baggett of Yoshimura Suzuki in third. The podium finish marks the first top-3 finish for Baggett since moving to the 450 ranks full-time.

The opening laps saw BTO Sports’ Andrew Short lead the field, fending off pressure from Smartop’s Mike Alessi and Dungey during the initial rotation. Dungey moved ahead of Alessi on Lap 2, but Short held steady, not giving the championship points leader an easy way through.

Behind, the race was on with riders like Troy Lee Designs’ Cole Seely, Baggett, JGRMX’s Weston Peick and Alessi charging hard for podium position. Alessi dropped steadily down the ranks until nearly mid-race though and then suffered a mistake that sent him flying over his handlebars. The Suzuki rider had to be carried off track by the Asterisk crew but later walked and threw the broadcast camera a thumb’s up.

Short didn’t give up at the head of the pack during the early laps, though Dungey was right on his rear tire. Seely had moved up the ranks and was equally tenacious from third, but the track was already thoroughly chewed-up in places causing a number of near misses from many of the top-10 riders. When Seely did try to make a move on Dungey on the fifth lap, pushing to the inside of the KTM, Dungey held firmly to his line and Seely dropped to the ground. He was able to remount, but lost position in the battle for the podium, allowing Peick to slip up to third and Baggett to 4th.

Soon after that shuffle is when Alessi suffered his crash, and as the lead pack came around the corner Alessi was still laying in the middle of the track. Dungey got really squirrely as he wove past the downed rider, nearly coming off his bike, and then, apparently, got fed up dealing with the competition as he yanked the throttle and blew past Short for the lead. From there Dungey was untouchable.

“It feels good to get my first-ever Daytona win,” said Dungey. “The bigger picture is obviously focusing on the championship, but to get the win feels even better. We had to do a lot changes to the bike prior to this race since it is different than normal Supercross racing and all of the changes were for the good. My bike worked great and I am happy to take this win.”

At this point, Short had plenty to deal with as Peick challenged him hard for second-place and 22 Motorsports’ Chad Reed, who had moved up to 4th, was also adding to the pressure. Peick finally moved ahead of Short for second and then Reed tried to move on Short as well, but the Kawasaki rider lost rear grip as he attempted an outside pass and went down. Reed remounted quickly, but spent the final portion of the race fighting to regain his mid-race position.

All the while, Tomac was blasting through the field and as the race reached mid-point, he’d slipped into fifth behind Baggett. The second half of the race saw Tomac move ahead of Baggett, Short and Peick, tackling the whoops on just a rear wheel lap after lap, showing yet again that he’d have been a force at the front if his start was better.

Peick and Short lost steam during the final stages, allowing Baggett to slip easily into third. Seely powered back after his early off to finish 4th followed by Reed in fifth. Team Honda’s Trey Canard, another victim of a disastrous start, fought back from outside the top-15 to finish sixth. Rockstar Husqvarna’s Jason Anderson took 6th ahead of Peick in eighth and Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Davi Millsaps in ninth. RCH Racing Suzuki’s Broc Tickle rounded out the top-10 as the single rider for his team in Daytona as Ken Roczen sat sidelined with an ankle injury. Roczen reinjured the left ankle early in the day during practice and was unable to compete.

Dungey now has a sizable 40 point lead over Canard in second. Tomac is third overall followed by Roczen in 4th and Reed in fifth.

Daytona 450 Supercross Results 2015
1. Ryan Dungey (KTM0
2. Eli Tomac (Honda)
3. Blake Baggett (Suzuki)
4. Cole Seely (Honda)
5. Chad Reed (Kawasaki)
6. Trey Canard (Honda)
7. Jason Anderson (Husqvarna)
8. Weston Peick (Yamaha)
9. Davi Millsaps (Kawasaki)
10. Broc Tickle (Suzuki)
11. Josh Grand (Kawasaki)
12. Andrew Short (KTM)
13. Kyle Chisholm (Kawasaki)
14. Phil Nicoletti (Yamaha)
15. Nick Wey (Kawasaki)
16. Jimmy Albertson (Yamaha)
17. Ben Lamay (Husqvarna)
18. Kyle Partridge (Honda)
19. Killian Rusk (Yamaha)
20. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki)
21. Nick Schmidt (Suzuki)
22. Mike Alessi (Suzuki)

450 SX Championship Points 2015
1. Ryan Dungey, 224
2. Trey Canard, 184
3. Eli Tomac, 159
4. Ken Roczen, 156
5. Chad Reed, 140
6. Jason Anderson, 140
7. Cole Seely, 138
8. Blake Baggett, 135
9. Andrew Short, 109
10. Broc Tickle, 107